Florida Fishing License and Permits
When to Fish
Where to Fish
This information relates to recreational hunting and fishing only. Recreational Fishing License and Permits The Rules and Regulations section of Fishing Licenses Rules and Regualations has information on commercial activities related to Hunting (taking furbearers) and Freshwater Fishing - including information about license requirements and exemptions. Also online is an area devoted to license requirements for Saltwater Commercial Fishing.
Recreational licenses and permits for residents and nonresidents are available at county tax collectors' offices. In addition, you can buy them from subagents, such as sporting goods stores or other retailers that sell hunting or fishing equipment; on the Internet and by phone. All license, permit and issuance fees are subject to change by the legislature.
For the purposes of hunting or fishing in Florida, a Resident is defined as
* Any person who has resided in Florida for 6 continuous months prior to the issuance of a license and who claims Florida as his/her primary residence; orYou do not need a hunting, freshwater fishing or saltwater fishing license or a *Florida waterfowl, turkey, snook, spiny lobster, archery season, crossbow season, muzzle-loading season, or management area permit if...
* Any member of the United States Armed Forces who is stationed in Florida (includes spouse and dependent children residing in the household).
* These exemptions do not apply to tarpon tags.For license and permit information (including application forms) regarding captive wildlife, freshwater commercial fishing and alligator trapping, follow this link.
* You are a child under 16 years of age. (Also exempt from federal duck stamp requirements.)
* You are a Florida resident age 65 or older possessing proof of age and residency or possessing a Resident Senior Citizen Hunting and Fishing Certificate. Residents age 65 or older may obtain, at no cost, complimentary hunting and fishing certificates from county tax collectors' offices.
* You hunt or freshwater fish in your county of residence on your homestead or the homestead of your spouse or minor child, or if you are a minor child hunting or freshwater fishing on the homestead of your parent.
* You are a Florida resident certified as totally and permanently disabled and you possess a Florida Resident Disabled Person Hunting and Fishing Certificate.
* You are a resident who is a member of the Armed Forces of the United States, you are not stationed in this state, and you are home on leave for 30 days or less, upon submission of orders.
* Effective Aug. 1, 2009 - You are a resident who is fishing with live or natural bait, using poles or lines that are not equipped with a fishing-line-retrieval mechanism, and you are fishing for noncommercial purposes in your home county. However, you must have a valid fishing license to fish by any method in a fish management area.
* These exemptions do not apply for the federal duck stamp.You do not need a freshwater fishing license if...
* You are a resident who is fishing with live or natural bait, using poles or lines that are not equipped with a fishing-line-retrieval mechanism, and you are fishing for noncommercial purposes in your home county. However, you must have a valid fishing license to fish by any method in a fish management area.You do not need a saltwater fishing license if...
* You are fishing in a fish pond of 20 acres or less which is located entirely within the private property of its owner. A fish pond is a man-made pond constructed for the primary purpose of fishing, entirely within the property lines of the owner and with no surface water connection to public waters.
* You are fishing in a fish pond of 20 acres or more, whose owner has purchased a fish pond license at a fee of $3 per surface acre.
* You possess a Resident Freshwater Commercial Fishing License.
* You are fishing in the St. Mary's River or Lake Seminole (but not including tributary creeks in Florida) and have a valid Georgia fishing license.
* You are freshwater fishing during Free Fishing Weekend (the first weekend of April).
* You have been accepted as a client for developmental services by the Department of Children and Family Services. The department must furnish proof to such clients.
* You fish from a for-hire vessel (guide, charter, party boat) that has a valid vessel license.
* You fish from a vessel, the operator of which has a valid vessel license issued in the name of the operator of the vessel.
* You fish for recreational purposes from a pier with a valid pier saltwater fishing license.
* You have a valid saltwater products license.
* You fish for mullet in fresh water and you have a valid Florida freshwater fishing license.
* You are a resident who is saltwater fishing from land or a structure fixed to land who has been determined eligible for the food stamp, temporary cash assistance, or Medicaid Program by the Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS). Proof of identification and a benefit issuance or program identification card issued by DCFS or the Agency for Health Care Administration must be on your person when fishing. * These exemptions do not apply to tarpon tags.